ADVERTISEMENT

Car Detailing?

FreeFlyNole

Seminole Insider
Jan 2, 2008
How much have you spent on this? I have never had my car detailed, I've always done it myself, but with two kids and a busy weekend schedule I don't have the 3/4 hour time block to do this work. Being a traveling salesman, I live in my car, and probably drive an average of 1000 miles per week, sometimes more. My car is starting to smell like a locker room / cheese cave (specifically frumunda cheese).

It's also 5 years old and, just needs a good thorough cleaning. Looks like the going rate around me is about $200 for the full Monty.

So my questions to the LR brain trust are: Is $200 a fair deal? Have you done this and been happy with the results?

Here is the place I'm thinking of going, they will come and pick up my car and return it.

Depends on what you mean by the full monty.

Wash / vac is usually only 20-30 with tip. You getting a full wax / cut buff? Keep in mind you pay more for the outside than inside. If you really only need the inside clean just do the standard. With kids you might consider upgrading to a carpet shampoo.

If it feels and sounds fair to you, and that's what his competition is charging...then yes, it's a good price.

For me, to expensive...but that has nothing to do with the fair market price. That's because I have a list of things I need that cost $200 and having my car detailed is not at the top.

Let us know how it goes....I'm curious.

FYI...I had a client come to us and ask if we could help him with his new mobile detail business (I do online marketing, advertising, along with a lead software management tool). We ran a campaign for $800 a month. He was picking up 10 new jobs a week. He couldn't keep up with the business. He bought a new van, hired people, and started to manage the business only. It was incredible. It is clearly a new hot business to invest in.