ADVERTISEMENT

What's the best life advice you've ever been given?

Lurker1999

Starter
Jul 6, 2018
Near Washington D.C.
My old college roommate gave me a whopper of good advice about a year ago.

He dropped out of college after freshman year to continue a computer software company and he has about $2 million saved in the bank now.

I was asking him about my financial situation and how it compared to other people our age.

He then let loose this golden nugget of wisdom:

"Don't compare yourself to other people. You do the best you can, you play the cards you are dealt and that's it."

I was blown away. I think that's good life advice for everyone.

Main ones that stick out in my life currently.

1) Learn a skill where you can position yourself to be the man and not working for the man.

2) Travel as much as you can before kids.

3) Compound interest.

Reactions: Lurker1999
YCDBSOYA

I have given a tie clip from my dad when I graduated college with this engraved on it. It was given to him by his father.

‘You Can’t Do Business Sitting On Your Ass’

It was his way of telling my to now go get a job and #dosomething

I’ve definitely had better advice, but this was a simple, to the point, and worked. I have it framed up and on my desk today.

YCDBSOYA

I have given a tie clip from my dad when I graduated college with this engraved on it. It was given to him by his father.

‘You Can’t Do Business Sitting On Your Ass’

It was his way of telling my to now go get a job and #dosomething

I’ve definitely had better advice, but this was a simple, to the point, and worked. I have it framed up and on my desk today.

It sounds like your Dad was all about sales and "buy low and sell high." :)

Reactions: DanC78
When a woman says "do whatever you want", do NOT do whatever you want.

Understanding women is like trying to smell the color 9.

If she's honest, funny, laid back, likes college football, eats pizza and lets you touch her butt, marry her yesterday.