ADVERTISEMENT

Angel's Landing Zion National Park

Jan 3, 2005
Thinking about driving over during our trip to Vegas next week. Anybody ever made the hike? Any suggestions? I've seen some videos and pictures and it looks terrifying but for some reason I still want to do it.
Posted from Rivals Mobile

Great trip. I'm not good with heights so kept a pretty strong grip on the chains along the spine where it's a long drop off. It's not dangerous but there is a strong pucker factor for those who don't like exposure.

Not sure what suggestions to make other than bring water and don't fall.

Valley of Fire is amazing esp if you hike out to the Wave and to some of the better petroglyphs sites. I did that instead of Zion last trip to Vegas and it was well worth it. I'll be doing Zion in April so I can't comment on it yet firsthand.

Very neat hike. It got pretty windy near the end and ur high up. Being from Florida where it's flat the switch backs really got me.

The drive up there from Vegas is also nice. If possible I would try to spend night so u can hike Angels landing and then the narrows. St George or road where Zion is located has all the hotels etc
Posted from Rivals Mobile

If you have a day away from Vegas, you'll need to leave early and plan on getting back late. You'll also need to be in pretty good shape-- it's straight up for a while there-- and have a tolerance for heights. Realistically, it looks worse than it is-- the narrow part is 5-10 feet wide at the narrowest parts, and there is a chain rail to hold on to, but it can be intimidating even to experienced hikers.

If you can do an overnight, you should: not only because it will give you more time to go deeper into Zion, but because that place looks so different at different times in the day because of the way the sun lights up the canyon.