ADVERTISEMENT

First Time - Deer Hunting

travnole

Veteran Seminole Insider
Gold Member
Mar 29, 2002
Chief Osceola Burial Site
Going Deer Hunting on a buddies property for the first time in N Fl in early November.

been reading and YouTubing for any info and have learned a lot, but what are the biggest do/don’t for this rookie?

I can shoot a rifle and understand gun safety, but as far as deer hunting I’m a newbie.

Going Deer Hunting on a buddies property for the first time in N Fl in early November.

been reading and YouTubing for any info and have learned a lot, but what are the biggest do/don’t for this rookie?

I can shoot a rifle and understand gun safety, but as far as deer hunting I’m a newbie.

Be very, very quiet....and make sure you cover you scent....you can be detected hundreds of yards away. Be safe.

hunt from a tree stand and get into stand before first light. use a rope to bring rifle/shotgun into stand and be sure the chamber is empty and safety on. good luck. check out primitive weapon only joe budd wma.

Reactions: iowanole1
Use a safety harness if using a climbing stand for sure. If a ladder stand with no top rails use one then too. Use a good scent blocker and please wear hunter orange walking to and from the stand. Don't get buck fever, take you time aiming and make sure of your target. Have a good time and just enjoy being in the woods.

Reactions: Deerfuel2
Think we will be hunting from a ground blind. Trail cameras have shown lots of deer moving through the property.

I have fishing license and will be getting hunting w/deer permit before we go.

everything I have seen is that smell and masking your scent is a big deal, huh?

It is even more important to have your scent masked when ground blind hunting.

Think we will be hunting from a ground blind. Trail cameras have shown lots of deer moving through the property.