ADVERTISEMENT

Question for the soccer fans

GwinnettNole

Seminole Insider
Sep 4, 2001
Did you become a fan of the sport by playing the game? If so-- when did you play and for how long?

I'm a big soccer fan and played some as a kid but my love for the game really started happening during the 2006 world cup. Now my son is on a team and I am helper (can't really call me a coach).

Just curious about how you became a fan of the beautiful game...

Thanks

No, my love of the game started during the 2009 Confederation Cup when we beat Spain to play Brazil in the final and then further confirmed in the world cup the next year. I started following MLS and EPL after that. Orlando finally getting an MLS team this year has me very excited.

Never played.

Was a World Cup nut starting in 1998 France.

Finally got into club teams during arsenal's run to the 2006 champions league final.

I started playing the game when I was 8 years old (1978) and played in Manchester, NH's first "little league" soccer league.

Back in the day, we were able to watch games on TV-PBS via the "Soccer Made in Germany" game of the week, all though I never really seemed to get into it.

I took a sports writing class my freshman year in high school (1984), and I would have the Sunday Boston Globe delivered to my house. The Sunday Globe sports section was huge and had some of the best columnists and beat writers in the country, and they had a weekly half page column on soccer, mostly world soccer, as soccer in the US was non-existent at the time.

I would read the column and start to recognize some of the names that would appear on a weekly basis, names like Diego Maradona, Michel Platini (who led Euro '84 with 9 goals, the 2nd highest scorer had 3 goals) and 3 of the greatest soccer players to play the game-George Best, Franz Beckenbauer and Johan Cruyff, who were at the end of their careers and were receiving a lot of print in the soccer column.