ADVERTISEMENT

For the LR mechanics

alaskanseminole

Seminole Insider
Oct 20, 2002
I purchased a full set of NGK plugs for my 2005 Mazda in December 2014. I installed them properly using the correct amount of torque and I did NOT drop, gap or over-torque them during installation. I've been installing my own plugs for over 25 years.

This past Wednesday I experience a sudden power loss followed by engine miss. Since my mechanic was closer than my garage, I took it straight to him. What he found was quite shocking. The center electrode as well as the ground electrode came off of the plug inside cylinder one. After several compression tests, a bore scope analysis and re-install of a new replacement plug, it appears to be running smoothly again.

Here's my concern, though, we couldn't find any of the broken piece(s) of the plug. It is possible they broke down and worked their way out through a valve or they could be lodged inside the head, piston, etc. There's no way to know unless we tear down the engine.

What would you do? Roll the dice and just drive it or pay for the peace of mind?

I wrote NGK to get their input as well.

NOTE: Yes, I fully realize the bigger problem here is, "2005 Mazda", but it's paid off and I don't really care about driving a flashy car.

NOTE: Yes, it has rims.
wink.r191677.gif

This post was edited on 2/19 8:27 AM by alaskanseminole

If the pieces did not burn up, they can only be one of 3 places -
still inside the cylinder, which is unlikely
exited through the intake valve, which is unlikely
exited through the exhaust valve

Since you've already cranked it and run it, if the pieces were still in the cylinder, or tried to exit through the intake valve, you would know it. If the pieces were stuck in either valve you would also notice it.

It seems likely the pieces either burned, or exited through the exhaust valve.

That's all IMO.

Originally posted by Finance85: