ADVERTISEMENT

Jury Duty

Finance85

Star Player
Oct 22, 2003
I go back and forth in my head on this.

I just got summoned for jury duty. I'm an IT consultant and the vast majority of my work is out of town. I had previously gotten summoned but got a deferral because I was at a critical time in my project, had already purchased non-refundable airline tickets, etc.

I'm the sole breadwinner for my family. Missing a week of work is a significant loss of revenue.

People say it's my civic duty. I'm not sure I buy into that notion. I shouldn't have to sacrifice time and money when there are plenty of people available who would only be sacrificing time. If I was retired or unemployed it wouldn't be a problem.

Am I wrong to feel this way?

I just got summoned for jury duty. I'm an IT consultant and the vast majority of my work is out of town. I had previously gotten summoned but got a deferral because I was at a critical time in my project, had already purchased non-refundable airline tickets, etc.

I'm the sole breadwinner for my family. Missing a week of work is a significant loss of revenue.

People say it's my civic duty. I'm not sure I buy into that notion. I shouldn't have to sacrifice time and money when there are plenty of people available who would only be sacrificing time. If I was retired or unemployed it wouldn't be a problem.

No. And the courts are pretty terrible at not giving a crap about the jurors. I got called a couple years ago... They explain the trial would begin on x date if we are selected. Guy in front row explains he works for a small company, scheduled around today to serve jury duty and certainly would have scheduled around the trial date had they told us before we got there.... but as of now he already had plane tickets for travel for work and he had to go and it would be an extreme burden to serve on this jury. There are seriously at least 20 alternates that could have been picked with no conflicts or issues.... That guy got selected.